It is currently Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:54 pm


Buying RAM

Seek help with anything, drop us some feedback or tell us what you'd like to see
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

sinky72

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1260

Buying RAM

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 10:17 am

I'm looking at increasing the RAM in my iMac and was wondering where the best place to buy it from?

thanks.
Offline
User avatar

Boro85

Wilf Mannion

  • Posts: 5329
  • Twitter: Jooky85

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 11:02 am

I bought direct from Crucial - quick, painless and they've got a guide to make sure you buy the right type. They were pretty cheap too from the very brief look round I had.

http://www.crucial.com/uk/mac/index.aspx
Offline
User avatar

sinky72

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1260

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 4:07 pm

Boro85 wrote:I bought direct from Crucial - quick, painless and they've got a guide to make sure you buy the right type. They were pretty cheap too from the very brief look round I had.

http://www.crucial.com/uk/mac/index.aspx



Thanks pete, looks a great site and easy to see what I needed.

At the moment Ive got 2 x 2GB with 2 spaces free. Can I get a further 2x 8GB of RAM or am I better off just getting the 2x 4GB as recommended?
Offline
User avatar

Boro85

Wilf Mannion

  • Posts: 5329
  • Twitter: Jooky85

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 5:53 pm

I'm no expert in RAM, probably need TerminalJunkie or Yoda to correct me on this, however I've always been led to believe that you should keep your RAM equal across all slots - so if you've got 2 x 2GB then get another 2 x 2GB, or upgrade and switch it all out for 2 x 4GB or something.

How much do you want to upgrade too?
Offline
User avatar

TheFace

Marcus Bent

  • Posts: 43

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 7:51 pm

think thats what id do
swap it all for 4 x 4 gig
and keep your old 2 x 2 gig for spares
Offline
User avatar

sinky72

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1260

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 8:08 pm

Cheers guys. Computers are not my strong points :)

Pete, not sure. I don't use my computer other than surfing and stuff but I'm finding that its running quite slow with the beach ball coming on at times. I do usually have quite a few apps running at once though. Would 8GB be significantly faster?
Offline
User avatar

Boro85

Wilf Mannion

  • Posts: 5329
  • Twitter: Jooky85

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 9:45 pm

sinky72 wrote:Cheers guys. Computers are not my strong points :)

Pete, not sure. I don't use my computer other than surfing and stuff but I'm finding that its running quite slow with the beach ball coming on at times. I do usually have quite a few apps running at once though. Would 8GB be significantly faster?


Should be double what you've got at the moment! :D B)

It'll certainly give you a boost, by how much I'm not sure. I've got 16Gb in mine and it flies, but I've got fast processor too. Whats yours? (Apple Icon -> About This Mac)
Offline
User avatar

sinky72

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1260

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 10:02 pm

mine is 3.2GHz intel core i3
Offline
User avatar

Boro85

Wilf Mannion

  • Posts: 5329
  • Twitter: Jooky85

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 10:42 pm

Like I say, no expert on this, but my gut says boosting the RAM to 8Gb should get you a decent performance boost. The CPU may become the blocker after this so i might not be worth upgrading again in the future. Might want to see what the other heads have to say first.
Offline
User avatar

YodaTheCoder

Scott McDonald

  • Posts: 583
  • Twitter: yodathecoder

Re: Buying RAM

PostFri Aug 30, 2013 8:27 am

You don't _need_ to installed the RAM in matched pairs but if you can, why not.

Macrumors has a guide to RAM here but it doesn't mention i3 specifically.
Offline
User avatar

sinky72

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1260

Re: Buying RAM

PostFri Aug 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Thanks for all the info guys.
Offline
User avatar

sinky72

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1260

Re: Buying RAM

PostTue Sep 10, 2013 9:40 pm

Just ordered. Am I right in thinking that I can keep the RAM I have (2x2GB) and just add the 2x4GB to make it 12GB or will I have to take out the 2GB's and just put in the new RAM?

Thanks
Offline
User avatar

Stepper_T

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1315
  • Twitter: Stepper_T

Re: Buying RAM

PostTue Sep 10, 2013 9:46 pm

You didnt order Sony RAM?
Offline
User avatar

sinky72

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1260

Re: Buying RAM

PostTue Sep 10, 2013 9:48 pm

Stepper_T wrote:You didnt order Sony RAM?


no :mrgreen:
Offline
User avatar

sinky72

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1260

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Sep 12, 2013 8:22 pm

Ok, just put the lot in and works lovely. gone from 4-12GB. Took a bit of pushing in but got there in the end :D

Thanks everyone
Offline
User avatar

Boro85

Wilf Mannion

  • Posts: 5329
  • Twitter: Jooky85

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Sep 12, 2013 8:25 pm

sinky72 wrote:Ok, just put the lot in and works lovely. gone from 4-12GB. Took a bit of pushing in but got there in the end :D

Thanks everyone


Sorry Si, I did see your post but was on my phone and thought I'd respond when I got home... clearly forgot! :))

Glad it all works, should be a big difference going from 4 to 12 mind! Noticed it? Desired result?
Offline
User avatar

sinky72

Fabrizio Ravanelli

  • Posts: 1260

Re: Buying RAM

PostThu Sep 12, 2013 9:44 pm

Boro85 wrote:
sinky72 wrote:Ok, just put the lot in and works lovely. gone from 4-12GB. Took a bit of pushing in but got there in the end :D

Thanks everyone


Sorry Si, I did see your post but was on my phone and thought I'd respond when I got home... clearly forgot! :))

Glad it all works, should be a big difference going from 4 to 12 mind! Noticed it? Desired result?


Definitely a desired result. Running very smoothly and quietly. thanks

Return to Help, Support & Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron